Criminal justice records are available per state statute. A written application must be submitted, along with copy and search fees set by ordinance. Most requests require about three days to research after administrative approval. Some reports may be withheld until investigation is complete, and most juvenile records are not releasable. If you need records from another state, county, or local agency, you will need to contact that agency, as we may only release our own local records. State-wide criminal arrest records and driving records are available from the Colorado Crime Information Center and the Colorado Department of Revenue. If you are the defendant in a case, you or your attorney can obtain case reports through the discovery process from the prosecuting attorney.
To Get Your Request
Download your Records/Accident Report Request form, and bring in, mail or email the completed form, with proper fees (which are listed on the request form and can be paid using Point&Pay) and current photo ID to the police department to obtain the record requested. If you are the victim in the case there is no charge for you to obtain your records.
When using our Point&Pay system in the Payment Type select "Traffic Fines" (this will insure we receive the payment), for Account Number enter your incident/case number such as 20-01234, and in the Comment Section put "SPD records request payment".
Accident reports have a $1.50 search fee along with a $0.25 fee per copy needed. While case reports have $12.00 search fee along with a $0.25 fee per page of the report.
When emailing or mailing in the request please include a readable copy of your photo ID. If you have any questions call (970)522-3512 option 2.
Mail to/Bring to: Email to:
Attn: Records firstname.lastname@example.org
421 N 4th St
PO Box 4000